Week 20: Scare Myself

Standard

For the past week, I’ve been feeding an obsession. I do it when The Two Halves and The Hub are already asleep because it’s not good for them to see what I do.

Less than a month ago, The Hub bought this HD TV thingie – like a small hard drive where you can download up to a hundred movies and TV series, which you then attach to a TV and watch away (by my description, you get an idea how in I am with the techie world). The thingie came already loaded – Game of Thrones and The Fast and The Furious Tokyo Drift for The Hub (his range of interests gives me a whiplash sometimes), Monsters and Aliens for The Hooligan and The T-Rex, Grey’s Anatomy for me (I was secretly overjoyed about this, but wasn’t about to admit to The Hub that I like shallow, self-indulgent stuff like Grey’s Anatomy. Anyway, he knows that already). 

The object of my obsession is also on the list – The Walking Dead. The Hub and I watched the pilot episode and I was hooked! It’s about a group of survivors trying to stay that way in a world that’s been taken over by zombies. Based on a comic book, The Walking Dead is such a guilty pleasure to watch because it tells the story of a parallel universe shot to hell. There’s gore – after all, the series is about zombies. There’s delicious terror – you never know when a zombie will come groaning around the corner. And there are philosophical questions to answer – does eating isaw and chicharong bulaklak make Pinoys part zombie?  

So for the past week, I’ve been sneaking downstairs when everyone’s asleep and after writing for work to get my zombie fix. I bring my survival kit with me – a flashlight (in case there’s a brownout), a whistle (in case a zombie pops out of nowhere and I’m too shocked to scream), one of The Hooligan’s sharpened pencils (in case the whistle doesn’t work and I have to defend myself), and my cellphone (where I’ve saved the number of the Animal Bite Center). I know zombies aren’t real, but you never know.

It hasn’t given me nightmares yet. I don’t think it will because, while watching  The Walking Dead makes me too scared to turn off the lights sometimes, the horror is so self-indulgently juicy that I enjoy it too much to add it to my nightmare track. Of course, there have been times when I’d wake up in the middle of the night and have to spend half an hour on OMG! or People.com to empty my mind of walking un-dead beings. But, really, what is life without a little horror pick-me-upper?

About supertamad

Welcome! So glad you could stop by. My name is Cecile and I like to write stories, especially if they're true, like the stuff in here. Most of my stories talk about the people most important to me--The Hub, The One with the Toilet Humor, and The Manipulator (I swear, they have normal names in real life). So grab that drink, sit back, and read on; I put up this blog to make life more fun for me, and hopefully for you, as well. Cheers!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

