Week 13: Celebrate

Standard

On the last week of December, The Hub and I celebrated our wedding anniversary. It was a very unconventional wedding, ours. We did do the church and reception thing, but we did it when I was eight months pregnant with The Hooligan. It was quite a sight, I tell you. Not a few of our guests – and family – must have sucked in their breath seeing the hippopotamus walking down the aisle – in white, no less. But bless them, The Hub and I never heard a word. Even from my mother-in-law (who, on our second meeting, brought me to her room, gave me a rosary, and told me to kneel and pray the rosary with her and her sister. It took me a minute to realize she wasn’t joking. For every mystery I fumbled with, she would give me a reproachful glance sideways.) Anyway, I guess I passed that test because on our wedding, she even took to the mic and led the singing of the “Our Father.” I saw that as a teacher giving her student an A (or maybe a B – I did forget four out of five mysteries).

In place of a redundant honeymoon, The Hub and I had a baby. Very romantic. I recall a most vivid fact: I tell The Hub, “It’s time to go to the hospital, contractions are here,” and he promptly goes to the bathroom and cleans it. Twenty minutes later, I can’t speak from the pain – and confused irritation – and he comes over all happy and chipper, “O, are you ready to go?”

Despite that, we’re still together and did meet another anniversary in December. It was a low-key celebration, really; kept even more low-key because The Hooligan and The T-Rex were deposited to their grandmother’s for just a few hours. So it was dinner at Adarna, this artsy-fartsy place in Quezon City. It had a really nice, old Filipino kind of ambience. Adventurous gastronome that I am, however, being in a restaurant that was bursting with culture, I ordered the safest of choices – pork chops.

For a nightcap, and with an hour to go, we decided to check out the Quezon Memorial Circle, which was just a few minutes away. That night, it was teeming with crowds relishing the freeness of it all – there was a parking fee of P15 but entrance was free if you came on foot. Inside, there were the ubiquitous tiangge stalls, vendors selling spinning tops that lit up, canoodling couples in the dark, and people oddly trying to play badminton outdoors in spite of the breeze. Aptly providing the background music for it all was Olivia Newton-John with “Let’s Get Physical.”

It was not exactly where you’d celebrate a wedding anniversary. But then, The Hub and I are not exactly your conventional couple.

About supertamad

Welcome! So glad you could stop by. My name is Cecile and I like to write stories, especially if they're true, like the stuff in here. Most of my stories talk about the people most important to me--The Hub, The One with the Toilet Humor, and The Manipulator (I swear, they have normal names in real life). So grab that drink, sit back, and read on; I put up this blog to make life more fun for me, and hopefully for you, as well. Cheers!

5 responses »

  1. you failed to mention the background history of the church. i’m sure it was one of the considerations of the Hub for choosing that particular venue. (never mind that i missed your wedding because i couldn’t find that blasted church.)

Leave a Reply

