Week 4: Break a Speed Limit

Standard

I’ve been out of commission, relatively, for more than a couple of weeks now thanks to the steady temperature rising. The heat has addled my brains and put my head in a constant state of migraine-hood. If our lovely planet gets any hotter, I know I can not only fry an egg but cook a whole meal on our kitchen floor, with my brains as salad dressing. But that’s not the Week 4 thing I’m going to write about today. (I’ll save that for when the temp reaches 40 degrees. Maybe tomorrow.) Instead, I’ll write about a trip The Hub and I took to Cavite this past weekend to attend a wedding.

Unlike how some people may feel, I find driving relaxing. I get excited just by the thought of getting out there and dodging those crazy drivers who think they own the road. But, contrary to what my mother would say, I am not and never have been obsessed with speed. And so I found my Week 4 when The Hub and I were on SLEX with me behind the wheel, on our way to Indang, Cavite.

Cars were few and far between on SLEX that Saturday noon. I was doing a steady 100 when The Hub – because he’s really just a little high school boy – started chanting, “140! 140!” I ignored him at first, picturing in my mind our precious Hooligan and T-Rex. No way would I risk paralysis just to give in to noisy peer pressure. But it was the perfect setting for speed. I didn’t see any speed limit signs (but I was sure there were some hidden behind graffitti and obscured by tree branches), and our sunshiny vehicle didn’t seem to mind going faster.

Got as fast as 125.

But I didn’t feel what I thought I would going that fast. I thought I would feel invincible and free and crazy. What I felt instead was a little bit hungry and (damn adulthood) responsible for my life and my family’s. So I let it slide down to 100 or so. Children do change one’s perspective, don’t they?

Now I want to see if I can feel invincible riding a motorcycle. Who wants to teach me how?

About supertamad

Welcome! So glad you could stop by. My name is Cecile and I like to write stories, especially if they're true, like the stuff in here. Most of my stories talk about the people most important to me--The Hub, The One with the Toilet Humor, and The Manipulator (I swear, they have normal names in real life). So grab that drink, sit back, and read on; I put up this blog to make life more fun for me, and hopefully for you, as well. Cheers!

4 responses »

  1. Teach u? What for? If u know how to ride a bike, u can ride a motorcycle. (And even those small ones can go over a hundred.)

Leave a Reply

